US Border Cantina

US Border Cantina

7105 U.S. 70S
Nashville TN 37221
615-646-4100

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Hours of Operation

Mon-Thurs: 11am-2pm, 4:30pm-8pm
Fri: 11am-2pm, 4:30pm-8:30pm
Sat: 11am-8:30pm
Sun: 11am-8pm

Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Nov 14, 2021 by Link

  • Oct 24, 2021 by Jeff Henderson

    Excellent food and atmosphere. Usually not a long wait if any and I haven’t ever had any problems. It’s been a popular local spot for years.

  • Oct 20, 2021 by Maddy Leitz

    Cheap, friendly, fast, tasty. This is my new favorite Mexican restaurant in Nashville.

  • Aug 15, 2021 by david moeller

    Good salsa seasoning just right

  • Jul 12, 2021 by Jenna Rauch

    The food had literally no flavor. I got steak nachos and the steak i’m pretty sure was bad. It tasted funny and it was slimy. Now i’m stuck painfully throwing up spicy food all day. so thanks US border cantina!

  • Jun 17, 2021 by chris rollins

    The best cheese enchiladas Ive ever had. I ordered them with the cheese sauce…Love this place.

  • Mar 27, 2021 by Justin T.

    Awesome staff. Awesome food. Awesome service. Can't imagine why folks don't rate this higher. My kind of place. Alejandro is the best!

  • Mar 15, 2021 by Zack French

    My favorite Nashville Mexican spot. Very good quality food. Some items might not meet everyone's expectations but I have never had any complaints

  • Mar 14, 2021 by Sherry Bublick

    Always enjoy the Mexican dishes..! Try Tracey's Special for a great dish...love it..always helpful and take good care of you!

  • Feb 13, 2021 by Barry Lee

    One of the 5 best salsa,s in the Nashville and surrounding area. Lunch chicken fajitas are great. Anytime I am in Bellevue, this is where I eat
    !!!

  • Jan 30, 2021 by Tracy Parsons

    Best fajitas and margaritas around! Friendly staff. Highly recommend

  • Jan 08, 2021 by Regan McDole

    My favorite place to go for a delicious and well priced meal.

  • Jan 06, 2021 by Jennifer Halfpenny

    This has my go to for comfort food for the past 18 years. When they had a second location downtown I would sometimes eat it for both a quick work lunch (downtown) then again for dinner at this Bellevue location near home. I've had wonderful meals alone, with family, friends, co-workers, dates and now I take my children. Their salsa and queso are perfectly thin for dipping yet big on delicious, bold flavor. I can count on fresh ingredients and deliciously prepared meals for dinner in or carryout. Customer service has always been great, I appreciate the team that keeps it going!

  • Dec 16, 2020 by Blake Baldassari

    A classic mexican restaurant. The hot house salsa is really good!

  • Dec 07, 2020 by Clarksville Pain Institute

    Best original margaritas on the rocks! Better than uncle Julio’s. Service is wonderful! Food is plentiful and the salsa is fresh and delicious.

  • Nov 24, 2020 by Tonya Gann

    Their salsa is ok a little bit too spicy for me. The service is great. The servers are always checking on you. The food is ok but I've had better Mexican food.

  • Nov 17, 2020 by CEJ

    This use to be our favorite Mexican restaurant but tonight although the food was good the service was lacking. We ran out of chips with 3/4 of a large queso on the table. When they finally came to check on us, as they were bringing out the entrées, we asked for more chips but by then the queso was cold. We all needed drink refills half way thru our meal, which usually they are coming by the table 3 or 4 times asking if you need anything. I don't know if they are having trouble finding servers or if this was just an odd night. I did notice that there were only 3 other parties in the restaurant while we were dining. I guess with so many new Mexican restaurants in the Bellevue area it may be time to try another option.

  • Nov 15, 2020 by Kristy Heady

    it's a great place to grab a quick bite fast service great staff . Great food !

  • Nov 14, 2020 by Kristy Heady

    it's a great place to grab a quick bite fast service great staff . I didn't give 5 stars because it is good and I will eat here again because it's close by my home .Just not 5 star flavor but it is good and flavor is good too .

  • Oct 28, 2020 by Shawn Morrison

    Been going to USBC since 1996! Food is great and so is the service! You can't beat it.

  • Oct 06, 2020 by Sherill Ryan

    Food was delicious and service was excellent. I loved their homemade salsa too.

  • Sep 26, 2020 by Jeff Davidson

    Good food, not overly crowded so felt covid comfortable eating

  • Sep 04, 2020 by Becky Dreaden

    Great staff and pretty good food.

  • Aug 31, 2020 by Matt Rummage

    Friendly staff and great price for food

  • Aug 06, 2020 by chris campion

    Taking Covid seriously which is great. Margarita mix was a bit sour.

  • Aug 04, 2020 by chris rollins

    The best cheese enchiladas Ive ever had. Love this place.

  • Jul 20, 2020 by Colin Brier-Braxton

    This is the type of family restaurant that deserves all the support they can get. I love their food and the service has always been fast and friendly. They are a Bellevue staple.

  • Jul 05, 2020 by Amelia Nicodemus

    Loved the shrimp fajitas!! So fresh and flavorful, not too salty. Great service, we sat outside

  • Jul 01, 2020 by Melanie Longoria

    This is my first time at this restaurant and it was really enjoyable. The service was great and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Jul 01, 2020 by Chrissy C.

    I wasn't impressed. It simply filled my primal need for nutrition. I won't be back. Food was over priced and bland. Chips and salsa are an extra cost after the first basket too. Who does that??

  • May 26, 2020 by Don Moore

    Great service.and fantastic food. I have never had a bad meal there

  • May 04, 2020 by Shelby T.

    Favorite spot in Bellevue, been going here for over 20 years. Love their queso & the margs are always good.

  • Apr 25, 2020 by Patricia Smith

    Our family, daughter, son in law, and grandchildren (one under two, the other under one) always enjoy visiting U.S. Border Cantina. Fortunately for us it is not far from our daughter's home. We find an excuse to eat there every month or two. The staff is always friendly and attentive. They willingly provide extra plates and kid friendly support. The food comes very quickly and we have never been disappointed.

  • Mar 25, 2020 by Robbie Smith

    Meh. It was standard Mexican food. Not great but not bad.

    Place was a pizza shop 40+ years ago and was never remodeled. Kind of run down.

  • Mar 02, 2020 by Timothy Riddle

    I love eating at this place. Great food and atmosphere

  • Feb 22, 2020 by Bill Marcus

    A cozy, friendly, neighborhood place with a broad menu and authentic food. My mesquite grilled shrimp would have looked better if I left them on the skewer. But they were very tasty. Still not as Tex-Mex as you'd find in Texas, but a great local alternative.

  • Feb 22, 2020 by Bill Marcus

    A cozy, friendly, neighborhood place with a broad menu and authentic food. My mesquite grilled shrimp would have looked better if I left them on the skewer. But they were very tasty. Still not as Tex-Mex as you'd find in Texas, but a great local alternative.

  • Jan 26, 2020 by Joe M.

    Reliably great spot that is affordable and delicious. The palomino is my go to but I also enjoy their carne asada from time to time.

  • Jan 20, 2020 by Kevin Fernandez

    Probably the better Mexican restaurant in the area. Have eaten at a few other Mexican restaurants in the area (there are several) and so far I like this one most. Had Enchiladas with steak and cheese, avacado, etc. Delicious. Wife had carne asada and it was very good as well. Bill for both of us was like 22 dollars. Will be back.

  • Dec 31, 2019 by Explorer656232

    What looked average was not.i had Texas Fajitas and Hub had the special which was trout! In a Mexican restaurant? He said it was amazing, firm but moist and nicely spiced. My fajitas were nicely presented and the shrimp was great. Margaritas were powerful.

  • Dec 27, 2019 by Harrison Freitag

    I've been coming here since I was a child! Very good food and they're always so nice!! One of my top places to go eat!

  • Dec 20, 2019 by Steve C.

    My wife enjoyed her shrimp fajitas. I ordered the Carne Asada plate, the menu description including "marinaded sirloin steak, including...". Silly me, expecting something resembling an actual steak dinner! I wasn't expecting a 1" thick steak, but I certainly wasn't expecting two slices as thin as deli meat. Essentially had to be eaten as cut your own meat tacos. The marinade was flavorful, I'll give them that. My expectations for having a steak dinner with Mexican trimmings definitely weren't met. Nashville continues to be a food desert in a culinary wasteland. It's a shame it's gotten to where two people can't even get something resembling a nice meal for $30+ any more.

  • Dec 06, 2019 by Ashley Bell

    My favorite restaurants in Bellevue. I have been going to this place since I was a kid when it opened. It is a great family restaurant with the best food. We always have great service, and their chips and salsa are the best. They also have great desserts and the prices are great.

  • Dec 05, 2019 by Gary King

    Great service and excellent food for the price.

  • Nov 24, 2019 by Patricia Houston

    Our dinner was delicious and the service over the top!! Dessert of fried ice cream is a new favorite. Our margaritas were just what the doctor ordered!!! Great place...will be going back!!

  • Nov 14, 2019 by Peggy B.

    Friends choice for lunch. Can't believe I have never been here as I love Mexican food. This  place is fantastic.  Any negative comments must be dated. I had the lunch chicken fajitas and friend had the shrimp nachos.  Both amazing and huge portion. The chips, queso, guac and lettuce was yummy and fresh. Decor is festive and service is top notch. Definitely on my fav list.

  • Oct 19, 2019 by Jerry Boswell

    I love their shrimp chili relleno, thin warm chips and hand made salsa, and best around top shelf margarita. They serve all the basics but a little more authentic than most and very cold cerveza.

  • Oct 15, 2019 by Anna Wilson

    I've been coming here since I was a a kid and it never gets old! The food is fresh the servers are very nice and most of all the food tastes fresh! This has been part of bellevue for years and if you haven't tried this place I highly recommend it! Order the chicken fajitas my favorite!

  • Oct 06, 2019 by Tina Sivley

    Great place with spot on Mexican food. I've been doing to this restaurant for 10+ years and the quality remains high. Great lunch prices, daily specials and drink prices. Love it!

  • Sep 27, 2019 by Global741112

    Food was good, Rice and beans were fresh and the steak was soft and juicy, Server was Excellent and CARMEN MAKES THIS RESTAURANT we just relocated here and Her Customer Service was on point! We welcomed to Bellevue/Nashville with open arms,

  • Sep 24, 2019 by Melissa Lambert

    Great food! LOVE the cheese enchiladas. Get your food quick and large portions. Terrible service, always.

  • Sep 11, 2019 by Humberdina Dong

    I've always had a good experience here. Food is tasty and service is nice. Personally I think their complementary chips and salsa really good as far as chips and salsa go. Nothing above and beyond, but it's a good.

  • Sep 09, 2019 by Robert Edwards

    Quiet professional. Always takes great care of us and we leave feeling wonderful.

  • Sep 02, 2019 by Michael Buckley

    Awesome place to eat or get take out, take out generally takes 10 minutes before it's ready

  • Aug 14, 2019 by Kalen Hicks

    Food was tasty and good portion size. The atmosphere is dimly lit and the interior was a bit 70's-ish, but in great condition and very clean. Restrooms were very clean.

  • Aug 14, 2019 by Kalen Hicks

    Food was tasty and good portion size. The atmosphere is dimly lit and the interior was a bit 70's-ish, but in great condition and very clean. Restrooms were very clean.

  • Aug 11, 2019 by JMasonNashville

    Felt like a Mexican meal and decided to try this place. Big disappointment. Dark and tacky inside. Too dark to even red the menu. Just typical American Mexican dishes. Spotty service. Nothing to recommend bout this place but the parking.

  • Aug 10, 2019 by Patti Swayze

    Carmen Has the best Customer Service!!!! Food was good. Restrooms were clean. Very friendly staff

  • Aug 10, 2019 by Patti Swayze

    Carmen Has the best Customer Service!!!! Food was good. Restrooms were clean. Very friendly staff

  • Jul 31, 2019 by Connell Stuard

    Food was very good. The service was fast for lunch time.

  • Jun 26, 2019 by Joell Smith-Borne

    The only place in town where I have found vegetarian tamales. Consistently a step up from other Mexican places around.

  • Jun 20, 2019 by Bryan Kinkel

    Best Mexican food in Bellevue. Excellent atmosphere

  • Jun 13, 2019 by CEJ

    Family run with wonderful service and consistently great food. They are able to get you in and out quickly if you need a fast meal. Also a good place to bring a big family or group and you won't feel rushed.

  • May 22, 2019 by Josh Bisbee

    I absolutely loved the atmosphere. It was dimmer than most Mexican restaurants. It seemed cozy. We chose to eat on the patio. Not much of a view but the weather was nice. Wife chose tamale special and it was fantastic. I went with the Tracy Special, a house items because it appears very similar to fajitas, which is what I really wanted. But I thought for $4 cheaper I would give it a try. Nope. Steak was of very poor quality. The wait staff was nice. The salsa was fantastic. I will go back but order something different.

  • Mar 15, 2019 by Josh Binkley

    Great food at a great price. They had our pretty large to go order ready when we arrived. Very satisfied.

  • Mar 12, 2019 by Karen Jones

    The service was good the staff was friendly but the food is bland. The queso was thin and had very little flavor. The enchiladas Verdes were okay. The chicken in them didn't have any seasoning or spices that I could taste, not even any onions or peppers cooked into them. I hadn't been there in a while I decided to stop in and now I remember why I don't frequent there very often. there are several other Mexican restaurants in this area that are much better in my opinion.

  • Mar 04, 2019 by Thomas Atwater

    It does the job when you want Mexican food, and it’s very kid friendly. It has one of those menus that is so long you wonder if they do anything well. But the tacos al carbon deliver for me every time. The chicken enchiladas are not that good. Nachos are decent.

  • Jan 06, 2019 by LynnMarie M.

    Food was good at us border Catina but the drinks were weak. The place is clean in side the waiter were friendly!

  • Nov 06, 2018 by Erin N.

    The quality of this place seems to be slipping so my rating has slipped as well. Margaritas were very VERY salty, not tasty. The sangria, grainy.... weird right but yes, grainy. My chimichanga was very small and unatural yellow color and pretty tasteless. The taco salad, just meh. The quest, watery and tasteless. Best thing brought to the table was the French fries that came with my daughters quesadilla.  Better just skip this one and head down the street to El Agavera. Almost the best in town. If they improve their cheese dip... their current dip is tasteless and watery.... they'll be 5 stars.

  • Oct 08, 2018 by Courtney W.

    This is our favorite Mexican place. We were regulars when we lived in the area, and we still love to come back when we can. My favorite is the chicken enchiladas.

  • Oct 04, 2018 by Terry Oldham

    Excellent Mexican food. Great service. Good location.

  • Sep 09, 2018 by Danica S.

    There are a few positives about this place. I can't say anything awful about this restaurant, but ultimately, the majority of my experiences here leave me to rate US Border Cantina an average review. I love the variety of the menu. Probably the most extensive menu out of all the Mexican restaurants in the Nashville area. They even have multiple specials listed on their whiteboard​ at the front. I also love their queso. Authentic​ because it's queso blanco cheese and not microwaved Velveeta. Despite their large menu and delicious queso, I feel like the rest of their food lacks in flavor; you can find more flavorful Mexican restaurants nearby. Their margaritas aren't anything special either, but they do get the job done.

  • Sep 09, 2018 by Sally N.

    Chicken enchiladas were bomb. The prices here can't be beat. It was amazing that I could get 3 enchiladas with rice and beans for less than what I usually pay for just two at other Mexican restaurants. But if you're more of a quality over quantity type of person YOU STILL WIN. Like all good things, this dish was delicious and covered in a warm blanket of cheese. I could've eaten 85 and maybe I will next time since we're getting into fall-winter season. More layers = More tacos.

  • Aug 30, 2018 by Drew

    Inexpensive & decent food. They make a good margarita too.

  • Jan 07, 2018 by Kelly C.

    After being back many times since my first review, I love this place more and more. It is quick, delicious, filling, and always a fun time! I love the friendly waitstaff. There are many Mexican places in the area, but this is my absolute favorite. Be sure to request the spicy salsa if that's your thing! We have had a few very tasty meals here!  The service is always on point. They bring hips and salsa over as soon as you sit down. The waiter helped us get the best deal for margaritas (the pitcher) and the margs are top notch. The menu is so reasonably priced. I would recommend the shrimp fajitas. The serving is huge and the shrimp are really good. The booths have a decorated 'roof' on them, which makes the atmosphere so festive and gives it flair. There are always people there, even during the week. We will continue to come back!

  • Dec 22, 2017 by 12dbryan

    This is always my favorite local Mexican Restaurant. Not the case today. I got lunch fajitas and the veggies were clearly burned. I was amazed the Grill chef even played this and sent it out. My friends dish was not right either and was gooey. Service was minimal. I'm wondering if they were training new staff. It's always so good. Disappointing today.

  • Nov 26, 2017 by Ports707

    It had been about six months since our last visit and in that time, this restaurant must have decided to cut food costs by buying already prepared chimichangas!! My chicken chimichanga looked “packaged” and the dough was tough with the chicken really dry. Entirely out of character for this restaurant!!!!!!

  • Nov 12, 2017 by Jay F.

    This place is just ok. If you like flavorless meat and runny salsa this is the place for you. I got three tacos and some chips with one cup of salsa. When I say cup I mean the smallest cup you can imagine. Salsa taste canned and the staff were not friendly. Since it was two people I said can the other person get some salsa also and there response was 2 bucks. Never again stay away far better options out there.

  • Nov 02, 2017 by PamC54

    After visiting a local attraction with my grandchildren, the 6 yr old grandson suggested this restaurant which is located in the heart of Bellevue. He had eaten there a couple times with the other grandmother and his mother and thought it was spectacular. He told his 4 year old sister that 'the salsa (that comes with the chips) was a little spicy but you'll be OK'. Yes, it was a tad bit spicy and she was indeed OK. The chips were warm and fresh tasting. Both children enjoyed the cheese quesadilla, practically licking their plates. It was LOADED with cheese. I enjoyed the chicken fajitas which were well prepared and took home half of the large portion which my husband enjoyed that evening. I would return.

  • Oct 27, 2017 by Tim S.

    Not impressed.  Beef tamale had dried out chunklets of beef, shrimp tamale was a log of tamal with 4 small grilled shrimp laid on top.  They put red sauce on flautas which I've never seen before.   A poor excuse for a Mexican restaurant.  Street vendors in Mexico serve better food.

  • Oct 18, 2017 by Jenny T.

    We had a good experience here. About average price but we got a lot of food and had leftovers. The drinks weren't the best but they weren't bad either. My sangria was mediocre but my friend loved their margarita and said they were on the strong end

  • Sep 22, 2017 by Sandra K.

    We love this place!   The margaritas are great, the food is great and inexpensive, and the staff are friendly and responsive.  They have the best cheese and onion enchiladas around...Check out the dinner specials board above the cashier; I often order the salmon dinner (ask for lots of their garlic/oregano/salt/pepper seasoning on it - otherwise it doesnt taste seasoned at all).  The salmon dinner  comes with your entree sizzling on one plate accompanied by a second plate of rice, refried beans, guac, sour cream, and some cold carrot salad.  And dinner specials are priced like $9.99 - you cant beat it.  Plus free chips n salsa like everywhere. Atmosphere is somewhat dimly lit with some festive xmas lights around the bar, tvs for watching sports or whatever (usually on sports).  Very comfortable.  Covered patio outside has xmas lights but they dont allow you to bring your dog onto the porch.

  • Aug 07, 2017 by 12dbryan

    U.S. Border Cantina is my favorite Mexican restaurant in all of Nashville. It is a family owned business and not a chain. If the weather permits, sitting outside is great. They have a lunch menu from 11:00 a.m. To 4:00 p.m. available Monday through Saturday! Great lunch combinations and check out their specials. My favorite is the shrimp skewer over rice or the lunch fajitas. It's more than I can eat and you can't beat the price. Great chips and salsa! I highly recommend it and this says a lot as its right in my neighborhood.

  • Jul 22, 2017 by Sondra H.

    Environment looked good, but the food was lacking. The chips were stale, it was hot in the restaurant. Chicken chimichanga was not hot, the cheese dip was not plentiful at all, however the sour cream made it palatable, but would not return in the future.

  • Jul 14, 2017 by Roger B.

    Cheese enchiladas, or velveeta goo stuffed in tortillas? Steak or fat and gristle? This place sucks.

  • Jul 05, 2017 by TomGallatin_TN

    Our family, daughter, son in law, and grandchildren (one under two, the other under one) always enjoy visiting U.S. Border Cantina. Fortunately for us it is not far from our daughter's home. We find an excuse to eat there every month or two. The staff is always friendly and attentive. They willingly provide extra plates and kid friendly support. The food comes very quickly and we have never been disappointed.

  • May 16, 2017 by snappuertavallerta

    Our waiter was so patient with us he told us about the whole menu because we could not decide. when the food came I was so impressed, fabulous and presented well. afordable and wonderful service.

  • Mar 25, 2017 by Chris X.

    This is my favorite Mexican restaurant. They have unbelievable enchiladas and I also love their tamales. I think I like pretty much everything on the menu. Staff is always very nice and provide great service.

  • Oct 20, 2016 by Leslie W.

    We ate there a few times years ago and thought it was passable.  Stopped going, don't remember why.  Decided to stop in a few nights ago, and it was a miserable experience.  Like another reviewer, we don't know what the "chicken" was, but it tasted just awful in every single dish.  It looked like it came from those frozen bags of chicken strips that were well past their sell-by date, and they tried to cover it up with seasonings.  They were not successful. The white cheese sauce, queso, re-fried beans, and salsa probably all came from jars or cans.  Everything, and I mean everything, was absolutely tasteless.  The exception being my husband's dish which tasted like something went bad.  We all tasted it and agreed. The tortilla chips were warm, but the oil they were heated in was old.  (Chips probably straight out of a bag, then heated in the oil.) Four of us each ordered something different, and the dishes came out in less that 5 minutes.  That should have told us something right there. The server was really good and very friendly, so props to him. The high ratings here confound me.  With all the good, affordable Mexican places in town -- many of them authentic and not Tex Mex -- why anyone would eat here is beyond me.  The only thing I can think of is that there isn't much in that part of Bellevue.  I'd hit the golden arches before I'd come back.

  • Sep 13, 2016 by NashCrew

    Nothing special at all. Nashville has too many above average Mexican restaurants to justify this one. It wasn't the worst meal but nothing to recommend either.

  • Jul 29, 2016 by Jim C.

    On weekends, my wife and I like to stop here after walking several miles at a nearby park. Great food, well prepared, no frills presentation, very fairly priced and great service serving very cold beer. The only complaint - the seating is bit uncomfortable. But still one of our favorites - you can't go wrong here - give it a try.

  • Jul 24, 2016 by adam7239

    The service was the only thing that was halfway decent. The chips and salsa were bland and if you wanted a second basket of chips its a $1.50. The portions where so small i thought i ordered off of the kids menu. Was not impressed by this restaurant in the least bit. Wouldnt recomend you to feed their foods to a stray dog

  • Jul 12, 2016 by Tripp W.

    Easily my favorite affordable Mexican restaurant in Nashville. Been coming here for years and years having grown up in Bellevue and it NEVER disappoints. The salsa and queso are always fantastic. I suggest the Tracy's Special with chicken or the Texas Fajitas.

  • Jun 27, 2016 by NancyG0205

    We love going to US Border, the food is wonderful and authentic and the service is quick, much faster than the other restaurants we get waited on. Everyone is very friendly there. Just an enjoyable place near home to relax and have great food. The strawberry margarita's are very good too.

  • Jun 18, 2016 by David M. S

    Good well seasoned 'el splatto' Mexican food. Friendly and fast service. Average ambience, not fancy at all, outside seating available.

  • Jun 03, 2016 by Amy C.

    Small hole in the wall with great and consistent food. My go-to for Mexican in Bellevue.

  • Apr 25, 2016 by kmartjohns

    Get the nachos al carbon with beef - my husband and I crave it constantly, and usually give in to that craving! Pretty get margaritas as well.

  • Feb 21, 2016 by Joyce D.

    This is my "go to" mexican food place. The food is consistently good. The service is friendly and fast. Comfortable atmosphere. Decent Margaritas too. In good weather, eat on the patio.

  • Jan 31, 2016 by David D.

    Very nice Mexican restaurant W of Bel Meade area. Simple, pleasant decor.  A mix of tables and booths. Fairly typical menu, but well executed. Prices very reasonable. Service was very friendly and attentive. Food arrived in lightning fast fashion! Good call for casual Mexican.

  • Dec 29, 2015 by John J.

    Great food! Great service! Super quick! Cold beers! What else do you need from quick sit down Tex Mex? My girl got fish tacos, I got Taco/enchiladas/ Shrimp Chile Relleno! All was great!

  • Aug 24, 2015 by Robert N.

    Good food , good service and reasonable prices . I would love to give it 4 stars if the quality of food was a bit higher . A go to for quick Mexican food .

  • Jul 18, 2015 by Mary G.

    The atmosphere is very calming and our waiter was great.  Food was tasty, nothing spectacular but we'll go back. Good comfort food!

  • Jul 18, 2015 by Mary G

    The atmosphere is very calming and our waiter was great. Food was tasty, nothing spectacular but we'll go back. Good comfort food!

  • Jul 06, 2015 by Nell H.

    I have eaten at this restaurant for years & have never had a bad experience. They have plenty of seafood options, for someone like me who doesn't eat red meat or poultry & many veggie options as well. Their salsa is drinkable it's so good & made fresh daily with lots of cilantro. I have had shrimp enchiladas,fajitas, skewers, grilled salmon, grilled trout, fish tacos, & never had a bad dish. My husband loves their chicken fajitas cooked to order. I'm not a big fan of fresh onions in guacamole, but hubby loves! The owner has been there for some time, as have many employees. I have tried every Mexican restaurant in Bellevue & this is my favorite. Wonderful friendly service, always. Food is reasonably priced. There's a reason their parking lot gets so jammed every weekend!

  • Jun 26, 2015 by Jerry C.

    Nice local family Mexican place. Greeted when we walked in. Stag was very attentive. Fast service. The fajitas had a great flavor. The quest was a little runny but good flavor.   Probably will be the giro for Fajitas going forward!!!!

  • May 31, 2015 by Gabrielle H.

    Service was slow and the food mediocre. Chips and taco shells were stale and the salsa was bland. The beef in the flauta I ordered tasted good.

  • May 05, 2015 by Barbara S.

    I would give this no stars but since I have too they get one. Service is bad, they do not even acknowledge you and when they do it seems like they do not even want to be there. Then they rush you when its time to leave. Food is okay but it takes forever to get anything extra once they bring your food out. I would not recommend this place. Zero stars.

  • Feb 04, 2015 by Conni E.

    Love the veg options, especially the handmade veggie tamales. The salsa is better than normal and the service is fast and efficient. And it's a great cozy hang- a wonderful neighborhood restaurant.

  • Jan 21, 2015 by Josh B.

    As far as Bellevue goes this is the best option for Mexican food. There are other restaurants in Nashville that are far superior, but the food here is great. I would stay away from the margaritas; I've never been impressed. Service is decent.

  • Dec 22, 2014 by Basak K.

    Amazing service! Although it's your average American-Mexican restaurant, the food tastes delicious and the staff/owners are super nice and attentive. Maria was an amazing server to us. We just got the chicken tacos, huevos rancheros and chile relleno and are leaving very satisfied.

  • Dec 09, 2014 by Lee K.

    Good!!! We will be back, great little place and good friendly staff. I had a chicken combo and the lady had verde...something it was really good, cant wait to go back!

  • Oct 11, 2014 by Dave O.

    Great food, Great service.  Margaret has been waiting on us for a little over a year now and she is amazing!  This is our go-to restaurant when we need a quick, tasty meal.  Love this place!!!!!

  • May 23, 2014 by Jay

    Great food and polite service. They need to do something about the horrible and occasional sewer smell on the patio though.

  • May 16, 2014 by Ali R.

    Always has good fresh salsa, the queso is very good- not too spicy or runny. The quesadillas are good, as are the fajitas and the taco salads. The service is usually good but sometimes slow. It is usually busy but they a lays have tables- we've never had to wait to be seated. Overall a great Mexican restaurant- the best in Bellevue for sure.

  • May 04, 2014 by Kerry

    A great place to eat .

  • Feb 02, 2014 by Jeff J.

    I was starving on a long drive that took me through Nashville.  I stopped here and was pleasantly surprised.  The food and service were very good.

  • Nov 14, 2013 by Chris

    The Texas Fajitas for one will easily feed two and the Texas Fajitas for two will feed three. #yummy

  • Nov 10, 2013 by Alex

    Decent tex-mex. Margaritas are good.

  • Oct 27, 2013 by Chief87

    We've been a couple times and sat on the patio each time. Their patio actually reminds me of Mexico: the walls look like they were built from salvaged metal and a sometimes noisy open-air experience is strangely inviting. It might not be for everyone. Then the food is pretty good! I've come to expect an average quality of food for mon-chain Mexican restaurants, but the food here has always been a pleasant surprise. They don't have draft beer. That's the only negative I can really say. It's been a dependable, enjoyable experience.

  • Sep 24, 2013 by chrislN6400CV

    Good food at your pace. I never feel rushed or forgotten. Love the privacy of the booths. Good margaritas. Good portions. A frequent spot for me.

  • Jul 14, 2013 by Fernando

    The Carne Assada is very good.

  • Jun 28, 2013 by Michael A.

    If I could give this place a lower review I would....The short answer is that we sat down at the table and with 10 seconds a big roach crawled across the table! Needless to say we left immediately!

  • Jun 19, 2013 by Janet Y.

    I am rooting for this place because it's really the one of few legit Mexican restaurants in the Bellevue area. The first time I went, I ordered enchiladas and I thought they were splendid! I love the beans and rice, which are hard to mess up- but still worth noting. On my second visit, I got steak fajitas. My husband got the Chimichangas and they were both OK. Not as impressed as my first visit-- but I will be back! The service was really good here, and the free chips and salsa don't hurt the experience!

  • Mar 28, 2013 by Lucy L.

    If you are a lover of authentic Mexican food (something which alludes me in Nashville) you won't find it here. It's not the worst I have ever had but the salsa is no bueno so it's kinda downhill from there. Queso dip is ok but I had never seen that before I moved to Tennessee. Service was good.

  • Mar 23, 2013 by Shafi A.

    This place is great for Mexican food. We come here regularly to get our monthly share of Mexican food. They have a lot of seating. Although there are a lot of customers, I have never waited because it's a pretty big place. They also have a great outdoor seating option which would be great for eating out when it's nicer (why is it still cold in March?!GRRR). We always order the shrimp fajitas for 1 (for 2 people) and share. Why? Their one person meal is large enough for 2 people to share! There's no need to get the one for two. The servers are really nice and we're always in and out of there in less than 1 hour. The only complaint we have is that their salsa is way too spicy. When we asked them to replace it with a less-spicer version, we were served warmed tomato-sauce like thing. No lie.

  • Jan 27, 2013 by Russell H.

    Not much to say, just a really solid Mexican restaurant.  I definitely have no complaints, and I have been going to this place for years.  Many of the staff are the same folks who were there 10 years ago.   Good food and service.  I haven't really had a bad experience here, so I would say its worth a try if you are into Mexican food.

  • Jan 20, 2013 by Sara L.

    My margarita was good, and that is always a great start! I second the salsa being good and also having a little kick, which I like, but someone who isn't in to spicy should beware. I had the chicken chimichanga, which I enjoyed, but wasn't excellent. The beans and rice were also good but great. It seemed like a great place for large groups and drinks. My friend's fajitas looked particularly good--if I go  back, that's what I'd order. They were super nice about making them veggie for her, which is always great. The service was a bit spotty, so go with some patience.

  • Jan 03, 2013 by Elliott W.

    May be it is the sentimental value of when I lived in Bellevue at the old Ridgelake apartments in the nineties and ate at US Border Cantina at least weekly that makes the food taste a little better or maybe it is better than average. In any event, I rate most Mexican places in middle TN on whether I think they are using the "silver label" or the "gold label" Sysco/PFG/US Foods Mexican menu. I think USB probably uses the gold label. The menu isn't inventive; it's probably 90% the same as every other localish Mexican place within 50 miles. The carpet is dirty but the lights are dim so you won't notice too much. But my favorite chimichanga in Nashville is still US Border Cantina. It's crunchy, cheesy, and meaty. The rice is decent, as are the refried beans which seem to have actual lard in them (yummo). The salsa above average, and the chips are served warm. Our service was fast, which was good because we were in a hurry. When compared to other local Mexi places like Las Palmas and Nachos, it deserves 4 stars. Probably 3 when compared to Sopapilla's and the other "stepped up" places.

  • Oct 28, 2012 by John F

    Better than average Mexican resturant, everything is good. When we want Mexican this is where we go when we don't want to travel very far.

  • Sep 24, 2012 by Tori

    My son's fries had more flavor than the chicken flautas. The shredded chicken is bland. Try something else. The salsa and quest are good.

  • Aug 02, 2012 by Steve J.

    US Border Cantina is your average Mexican Restaurant.  Nothing more...Nothing Less.  The service was good at some points and not so good at others.  The folks were friendly, but I waited too long to order when the restaurant was not very busy. The salsa was very good and a little more spicy than average.  I really liked it.  I ordered the steak fajitas because it was less expensive than the carne asada. The steak was OK, but did not have much flavor.  The grilled veggies were also OK, but they loaded me down with onions.  It seemed to be out of proportion to the amount of peppers.  The side plate of beans, salad and guacamole were pretty good.   The prices were a little on the high side for a lunch special, and maybe that is why I expected more.  It's worth another shot for lunch, but I doubt that I will drive across town to get here.

  • Jul 19, 2012 by Adam S.

    This place is decent. A typical small Mexican restaurant. I usually huevos rancheros or fajitas.

  • Jul 15, 2012 by mona

    Becky's Special

  • Jun 28, 2012 by 4bird1

    Most Tex-Mex restaurants in Nashville seem to come from a cookie cutter. Not this one. A large menu has just about everything and is supported by a white board with all sorts of specials. The servers are friendly and helpful. Food is very good and prices are reasonable. Very clean.

  • Jun 04, 2012 by Chris S.

    This is conspicuously average mexican food. It's the Southern US variety, so if you're in to that, you're good here. Everything seemed pretty decent from chips to margaritas. I had the Carne Asada which was a shade bland. The rice and beans were decidedly average. I'd try somewhere different in the area.

  • Apr 22, 2012 by John W.

    Eight years ago, when we first moved to Bellevue, we went to US Border Cantina and really, really didn't like it. Honestly I cannot remember why. But until recently we didn't go back. Let's face it: there are a ton of Mexican restaurants, and our opinion was this was just another one, so why go. Then, one day a couple of months ago, we went back. And have been going back ever since. US Border Cantina is not a typical Mexican restaurant. Oh, they have a lot of the same dishes that the other places serve. But they don't crowd their menu with a million choices. They have some of the standard "combination dinners." Yet it's not quite the same in that regard, either. Similarities to other Mexican restaurants go away when the food is served. The tamales are some of the best I've had. Their salsa is wonderful. On the menu they have some "specials" that give everyone in the family something to eat. What sets the place apart, though, is the service and the ambiance. There is seating both inside and outside. You feel like you're in a family place from the moment you sit down. Food and drinks come quickly, and after giving your order, the food comes out at an appropriate time: not too soon so you feel like they're rushing you, but not too late, either. Every waiter/waitress we've had has been exceptionally kind and helpful. At the end of the meal, the best surprise of all is that the food is reasonably priced. It's hard to be a Mexican restaurant. Everyone has "their" place, and are generally quite picky when they go someplace new. I've found US Border Cantina is a notch above in food quality. It's a good place to sit and eat and enjoy, something we Americans tend to be very poor at (we like to eat and leave). We've only had one problem with the service (on the patio; but there was a large group next to us, and that's always a challenge for even the best restaurant). So I suggest giving it a try.

  • Dec 16, 2011 by Glen

    chicken burrito is awesome. best salsa in Nashville.

  • Oct 30, 2011 by Hoa T.

    Not very memorable.  It wasn't bad but it was great either. The service was not attentive.  The margaritas was the highlight of my meal.

  • Oct 05, 2011 by Bev51786

    Mexican food is my favorite kind of food and I have requirements that I look for in a restaurant. US Border fills all of these requirements! The atmosphere - love the booths, private and you can talk without having to yell. The service - always excellent especially Maria and Fernando. The chips & salsa - very tasty, just enough heat, crisp chips. The queso - yummy! The drinks - great margs & you get your monies worth! When I am not wanting a marg, they have coke products instead of that nasty Pepsi stuff! And of course, the food - have tried several different selections and have not been disappointed in any. Food prepared just to my liking. My husband and I go to the Border at least once a week and we live 30 minutes away. So we do feel it is worht the time and effort of getting there. Keep up the good work!!

  • Jul 01, 2011 by Brian N.

    Maybe today was a bad day at the Border... I was pleased to see the place had come a long way since the last time I was there which was years ago. So I figured that everything would be just fine. We were seated and greeted relatively quickly and our drink orders taken.  Then when our drink's returned and our food orders were taken. The our food arrived. That was about as much of our server as we saw until we got the check. Unfortunately every time we needed something, we had to flag the fellow down, as he was passing our table... AGAIN, in order to serve the two tables around us. The two folks with me ordered the lunch fajitas, and a cheese quesadilla which they were satisfied with. Nothing special, just a regular Mexican meal.   I however, was sorrily disappointed to receive my order. A Monterey Taco salad with steak. The supposed steak was not really steak, it seemed more like meat that had been run through a tenderizing machine until it was past cubed. The worst part was, the ENTIRE dish was cold. Which was depressing because, even though it was all cold, the flavor I could taste was half way decent. I wish I'd received a fresh taco salad, instead of one made yesterday. That's what the shell tasted like anyway. The toppings on the salad; guacamole, tomatoes, sour cream, cheese, were all "set" together, instead of appearing like they'd just been put on the salad. Unfortunately I also found the chips to be stale, flavorless and the salsa not much more than ketchup with a hint of spice and a chunk or two of some vegetable. I'm not  a "send it back" kind of person, but honestly, I would have sent this meal back and left, if not for being with other people who did not have problems with their meals, as well as being starved and on a short lunch break. There was no time for another order, or restaurant. I fear I'll be headed to lunch here again at some time in the future because of coworkers, but I know I will not order the Monterey Taco Salad ever again. Maybe on another day US Border Cantina, you can show me what you're really made of, but for today, I think you're made of day old food and disinterested servers.

  • Jun 30, 2011 by Pete4vol

    My wife and I frequent U.S. Border Cantina. The price makes it a guiltless go to when neither of us feels like cooking. One thing that makes them stand out for us has got to be their salsa. We could probably just eat chips and salsa and drink margaritas and fill ourselves! The salsa seems fresh and is always a little different each day. I consistently get the enchiladas al carbon and find it to be fantastic! I hope that other people enjoy it as much as we do!

  • Jun 18, 2011 by kingofseafood

    One of the most important criteria for me when rating a Mexican restaurant is the chips and salsa, and this place gets an A for their delicious salsa! The atmosphere is nothing too special but it works. Service and food are great, which is the most important things to me. Parking can be hard to come by at times due to location but not too much of a headache. Usually my first choice for Mexican in Nashville!

  • Apr 08, 2011 by

    Best Chile Rellenos in Nashville!

  • Apr 05, 2011 by Sara

    The strawberry margarita is a must!

  • Mar 30, 2011 by Ralph R.

    Great food great prices. Love it.

  • Mar 21, 2011 by Saluki77

    Not highbrow chow, just great 'el splatto' with plenty of choices, great service, low prices - what else could you want - oh yeah, the pitchers of margaritas are the best I've ever had, they even have tequila in them! A comfortable hangout you can afford to visit all the time, never had a disappointment ever at this place.

  • Mar 02, 2011 by Steve D.

    Generic mexican at best. There are dozens of mexican restaurants that are identical with the same offerings. I didn't give it 3stars due it being packed, waited 30 minutes for mediocre food. I really don't understand why this place gets so busy.

  • Jan 17, 2011 by Denise L

    Located next door to the Dollar General Store at the intersection of Hwy 70 and Old Hickory in the Bellevue area, you can't miss US Border Cantina because there are so many cars in the parking lot. During the lunch and dinner hours, you may find it difficult to find a parking spot near the restaurant. The locals know this is a great place to go no matter if you want to watch a sports game, bring the kids for a little Mexican food or sit in the booths for a date with your significant other. As the title says, it's good food fast, not "fast food." As the previous reviewer said, the margaritas are great. The queso is very good but a small portion. They will continue to gladly bring complimentary chips to the table. The menu has so many options that everyone can find a dish whether it be the carne asada or my favorite the chicken fajitas.

  • Jan 10, 2011 by Stuart W.

    I'm sure there must be a great and unique Mexican restaurant in Nashville. This ain't it Like almost every other Mexican restaurant in town, I can order without even looking at the menu. The chips are Cisco, the salso - Cisco, the Margarita Mix - Cisco. Heck I don't think there was an original item. That said, we were there for a friends birthday party and we must have had 60 people, including kids. There were adults drinking, kids screaming and people standing in the aisles. One would never know from the waitstaff who ran their tails off making sure that orders were taken, drinks were served, food came out and the chips bowls stayed full. On a scale of 1-5, its a solid 3.

  • Jan 10, 2011 by Amy H.

    We go here all the time! My kids love it and I love it. The food is average but , not by any means bad , just not spectacular. The prices are great. The service is A-mazing! The $10.00 patron margaritas are a welcome mini-vacay at the end of a crazy day. The menu is basic mexican fare and anyone can find something to love.

  • Jun 25, 2010 by Nick N.

    I eat here at least once a week!  The food is great, they don't skimp on portions, and the service is fast and friendly.  The only time I have had slow service (the delivery of the meal not the server) was when a large group (about 20 people) had just ordered as we were sitting down, thus this is understandable.  The servers always keep your drinks and chips full as they work together.   In addition to the usual dinner drinks the alcoholic drinks are not watered down and are a fair size.  Food has always been outstanding, tried nearly everything on the menu now and it has all been wonderful!  Looking for some good Mexican food...give them a try! Ate here for the first time this past week and I must say it was great! I love Mexican food and it gets harder and harder to find good Mexican these days as everyone seems to be getting more and more into the Taco Bell style of food and although I like TB it isn't what I am looking for when I go to a sit-down meal at what is advertised as a true Mexican Restaurant! Well US Border Cantina has great some great food! I had one of the larger mix and match meals that they offer and my other half had another similar meal so we could try as much of a variety as possible. It was all delicious!!! Comfortable, clean with both indoor and outdoor seating I really enjoyed it and I do believe just based on the food alone I have found a new favorite Mexican place! The service was ok, not great, but not bad...we walked in with about 20 others at the same time although they were not with us ( an "older crowd" demanded a lot of attention as they looked like they had no idea what or where they were and were trying to celebrate a 75th birthday I think) and I thought the servers did well to accommodate everyone's "special needs". Our food was brought out quickly and steaming hot! Drinks were filled consistently too! Price is ok too, not too expensive either, less than 20 bucks for two. I can't wait to go back and try more now!!!!

  • Jun 05, 2010 by Stephanie

    They can't serve beer on the patio but they can serve liquor?

  • Dec 28, 2008 by Heather F.

    I think the host at US Border Cantina thought I had a crush on him.  I may have, but more likely, I was just lazy, and obsessed with the food here.  On nights where I was simply too exhausted to make myself anything for dinner, I would order take out from here on my way home from school.   This particular host had my order memorized, and when he would see me drag my sorry butt in there, looking beat up (and depending on my clinic rotation, I might have been that day), and he would give me his winning smile, flirt with me a bit, package up my food, and send me on my way.  The chicken enchiladas verdes here are among the best I have ever had, and they come without onions mixed in with the chicken (a huge plus in my book).  The queso blanco dip is the BEST I have ever eaten, and the tortilla chips are always fresh, hot, and frequently refilled.   I ate here often while in Bellevue/Nashville, and never had a bad experience.  This place has lots of very faithful regulars because the food is amazing, the service is top-notch, and the servers are so darn cute.  Plus, they serve the best margaritas here.  I can't tell you how thankful I was that I lived only a short walk from here, because I left my car here on plenty of nights and walked home (not recommended).  Just writing this review makes me miss US Border Cantina and Nashville SO much!

  • Jan 16, 2008 by A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook

    Our weekly hangout....the best chips and salsa.......and absolutely perfect Margaritas

  • Dec 30, 2007 by kristen p.

    Like stated in other reviews this is the place to go for veggie tamales. Husband hates mushrooms so he orders the veggie enchilada's. I eat them anyway because I love tamales more than I dislike mushrooms.  Lots of veggie options and pretty good salsa.