Mestizo's Mexican Cuisine

Mestizo's Mexican Cuisine

7401 Charlotte Pike
Nashville TN 37209
615-942-9007

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Hours of Operation

Mon-Sat: 11am-9pm
Sun: 12pm-9pm

Family owned Restaurant with the purpose to give the best food and the best margaritas in town. We are a place where we make homage to the diversity and cultural richness of Mexico with the touch of Nashville. We are an open concept to amaze and share what the Mexican Cuisine has to give.

Happy Hour

4pm-7pm
Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 18, 2021 by K.G. Beachus

    Good food, good price, good service. The place is too bright tho for evening eating!

  • Nov 06, 2021 by Mike V.

    Had a great lunch from here the other day. It's a beautiful place. A little overpriced, but that's probably expected for Bellevue. The only downside was the decried beans which didn't have much flavor...everything else was great!

  • Oct 26, 2021 by Andrew Decker

    Best Mexican in the area. You get so much food for your money and it is delicious. The baja fijitas are absolutely amazing.

  • Oct 03, 2021 by Chas

    Called and got put on hold for about 10 minutes and could hear people nearby engaging in conversation. Continued to call for 20 minutes and drove by to see that it was not overly busy and employees were standing around while the line was still ringing.

  • Sep 22, 2021 by Rick Bovee

    I really really like the food there it taste authentic and is Priced Right although I was there at 2 in the afternoon the service was excellent

  • Sep 13, 2021 by Adam Jasper

    Best Mexican cuisine I've had in Nashville by far! Amazing service and the most friendly staff.

  • Jul 29, 2021 by Ashley W.

    Not what I was expecting. I came right after work after hearing they have discounted margaritas during happy hour. Very cute inside and it wasn't really packed. Highly disappointed in the taste or the margarita however and didn't taste any tequila. Seeing such a full bar I hoped they would make a fresh margarita but they have a premade mix they pour on ice or blend if you order frozen. I also ordered chorizo dip and two tacos to take home. The chorizo dip is soooooo good. The chips that came with it look like they are made in-house, but weren't crispy so I used the complimentary chips instead to get that good crunch. The tacos weren't the best and were super soggy when I got home and I live 4 minutes away. But after thinking about how my check was twice the amount it should have been and I had to wait on them to change it, I probably should have ate them while there.

  • Jul 26, 2021 by David Faucette

    Dine in and enjoy it. Take out isn't as good. Some foods just don't travel well.

  • Jul 18, 2021 by scott fishkind

    This has become my favorite Mexican restaurant in the Nashville area and I'm very lucky that I happen to live in Bellevue where it's located.

    While reasonably priced I would describe this as gourmet Mexican food. There's just something different about it that is unique, special, and incredibly tasty!

    Lastly they have the most wonderful people working there and I've had a positive experience every single time!

  • Jul 14, 2021 by Alex .

    We love Mestizo's. We go at last once a month or so. Even my dad, a notoriously picky person, likes Mestizo's. I especially love the veggie fajitas because they have mushrooms and squash in them, when many other places just add carrots and cauliflower. The beans and rice, also unlike most places, don't upset my stomach, leading me to believe they are truly vegetarian. Queso and salsa are great, though chips admittedly could be better. In an area like Bellevue, where restaurants can be very hit-or-miss, this is a hit.

  • Jul 07, 2021 by Chris P.

    I really love Mexican cuisine and I seek out Mexican restaurants to try. I've been here twice and both times I came away impressed. It's a nice looking place, clean and inviting, good service, and the food was as good as any Mexican restaurant I've tried in the Nashville area . The portions are not too big and not too small. The Margaritas were superb. I hope it stays this good because I want it to be a place I hit up regularly.

  • Jun 19, 2021 by Sharon C.

    Great service. Excellent food. Cute place. Amazing tortilla soup. We'll be back for sure.

  • Jun 16, 2021 by Leighton Taylor

    I’ve honestly never had a bad meal here. Used to live just a mile down the road and would take all my friends and family. Drove by a couple weeks back and had to stop for a visit. Love the clay mugs for drinks which is a nice authentic touch!! Prices are fair and staff is always friendly.

  • Jun 10, 2021 by Caitlin White

    Stopped here on my lunch break because I was passing by, and I was pleasantly surprised! Friendly staff, and excellent food and drink. The tortilla soup is enough to be two or three meals and only $8?! Will definitely be returning.

  • Jun 06, 2021 by Jason G.

    Excellent food and service!!  This is one of the best Mexican restaurants in Nashville!!

  • Jun 03, 2021 by Sandy Young

    Best mexican food in town!! Excellent service as well.

  • Apr 15, 2021 by John Haughton

    I’ve been eating here since they opened about 2.5 yrs ago. At first I started going here because I was curious about the large number of cars parked outside...every night. Turns out the food is excellent and this made me fall in love with Mexican food!

  • Apr 11, 2021 by Andrew Ragland

    Excellent food, quick and friendly service. Larger vegetarian section on their menu than usual, including spinach enchiladas. No Jarritos but I'm not going to knock off a star for that. Well executed artwork on the walls tying in with the name.

  • Apr 02, 2021 by Breanna Kolasa

    Let’s start with the food and end with the customer service.
    The food is amazing and even that is an understatement. We have made mestizos our regular Mexican place and we don’t regret it for a second. There’s no “off” night for them. We have to start off with their chorizo con queso. The right mix of spice and savory. My favorite is the taco Del Mar with shrimp and my partner’s favorite is the fajita burrito/quesadilla depending. There’s so much flavor and it’s always piping hot.
    Their customer service has always been superb. We are always greeted promptly, have chips and salsa on our table within a minute of arrival and drink order. The servers are always quick, professional, and accurate.
    This is all without mentioning their margarita happy hour.

  • Mar 22, 2021 by Monica K.

    One of the few times lately ,my husband and I have ate inside a restaurant.   Fabulous!!!! Good food,  good drinks, clean, great customer service!!!! Highly recommend, forgot the young man's name  (over the weekend) but thank you very much, you were the only one we seen, but you had a great attitude, great customer service.

  • Mar 16, 2021 by Laura

    Lots of vegetarian options; spinach enchilada was AMAZING (and I'm a picky eater).
    Tortilla soup was excellent — very fresh ingredients. And my mom said the coffee was "to die for".

  • Mar 11, 2021 by John Mondelli

    Excellent Mexican Cuisine. Prices seem to have gone up slightly. You won't be dissatisfied.

  • Feb 08, 2021 by Jason60097

    We ordered Soft ShellTacos (With Ground Beef) and Burrito Supreme (also with Ground Beef). Both dishes were delicious, juicy and filling. Prices were reasonable. Mexican Rice was also good. Server was very prompt with quick refills of our Iced Tea. Sopapilla for Dessert was OK. I prefer the lighter, pastry like version - this was the harder shell with Ice Cream, Cinnamon, Chocolate Sauce and Whipped Cream. Very convenient to McKay's book shop.

  • Jan 24, 2021 by Sara

    Hands down best Mexican restaurant I’ve been to ever. Salsa: 10/10 cheese dip and chips: 10/10 food: 10/10 and excellent service, my aunt left her card in the restaurant and didn’t know it and our waiter had come out to bring it to us before we left! Excellent service and great manners as well 10/10 would recommend!

  • Jan 22, 2021 by Scott St. Dennis

    We like the rice special with chicken or beef depending on the mood. Their meats are very tender and marinated just right. My wife loves the spinach enchiladas & I love the chili Colorado. It’s like a braised pot roast in chili sauce ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Jan 16, 2021 by Samuel Edmondson

    The street tacos were delicious here! I loved the onion with all the cilantro and lime. The margarita was decent.

  • Jan 05, 2021 by Jim M. 3 photos

    Don't hold me to this data but Bellevue, Tennessee has more Mexican Food restaurants per capita than any other place on earth.  Okay, I might be overstating it just a smidge but their are a ton of Mexican restaurants. The four stars is based on the "QMFCB" or the Quality of Mexican Food Continuum in Bellevue. This is a separate scale just for the food genre. Just north of I-40 at the corner of Charlotte Pike and Old Hickory rest, "Mestizos" First, the name? Unusual and exotic, right? One of the really pleasant people working here told me that it comes from Mexican history. When the Spanish conquered Mexico they often fell in love, got married and started a family. The children of these families were called "mestizos". I had never heard this story before but the artwork inside. I really like the interior. Onto the reason we are all here, the food. Good to high quality, varied and extensive menu. Traditional and the ranchero sauce was great. The salsa served with chips is clearly fresh and homemade. I had beef Chile relleno and fajita burrito. My wife had enchilada and a hard shell taco, both served with rice and beans. My only gripe was I thought I was ordering my two dishes from the "Create Your Own Combo" but when I got the bill the relleno was charged alma carte. Food was authentic and clearly freshly made. I will be back. Given the COVID environment we were surprised how busy it was even with fewer tables the restaurant had a great vibe. It appeared there was only one server for the entire place. He was awesome. As a former food server it was amazing to watch him seat tables, greet tables, take drink orders, run the bar and run food. Whew! A little more patience is necessary from the patrons because of this circumstance. It was really good service given the circumstance. All in all a great first visit. We will be back.

  • Jan 01, 2021 by Donna Harris

    Some of the best food I've tasted in my life. It just so happens to be Mexican. I rarely eat Mexican cuisine and have NEVER done a review... HAD to.

  • Dec 29, 2020 by Rachel L. 1 photo

    I really want to love this place! Location is great, very convenient to where I live. Employees are kind. Clean interior and easy and safe pickup during these COVID times. Unfortunately, after eating here twice (via takeout), I'm just not impressed with the actual food. The chunky guacamole is good, not great. The grilled chicken is good. Portions are good. The salsa is likely the worst salsa I've ever had. It was warm, almost hot (temperature, not spice). It tasted and smelled almost like tomato soup. NOT what I want salsa to taste or smell like. I might be back because, again, it's so close... but I really hope they fix that salsa. Will not ever be eating that again!

  • Dec 28, 2020 by Kelly Short

    Best Mexican restaurant around. It’s our family’s fave. We come here often and the food is great and fresh, the service is excellent. If you haven’t been here, I highly recommend it!

  • Nov 25, 2020 by Alanna F.

    I love this place. I occasionally come into town from LA to visit family and I always end up getting takeout from here during my stay. It is so reasonably priced, the food is tasty, the portions are generous, and above all the service is outstanding. Every person I've ever interacted with here is SO friendly and helpful and efficient. I mean really just top notch staff. Thanks for everything, Mestizo's!!

  • Nov 16, 2020 by Patrick Tiesler

    Each time I visit, which is frequent, it reminds me of how much I love this restaurant. The portion sizes are large, the food is incredible, the staff is kind, and the salsa is the best I've had

  • Nov 13, 2020 by Lyndsey Andreasen

    Hands down the best Mexican restaurant I've eaten at so far. The poblano peppers are actually to die for! I could rave all day about how delicious they were. Will definitely be back all the time after finding this gem!

  • Nov 12, 2020 by Sarah R.

    The margaritas have no tequila in them, be prepared to drink straight syrup mix for the highest price in the smallest glass.

  • Oct 24, 2020 by Chelsie L.

    Absolutely the best mexican restaurant in town! Staff is friendly, food is always fresh, to go orders are quick and efficient. Never a bad meal!

  • Oct 19, 2020 by Dinesh Sachdev

    Excellent restaurant! Prices were a bit on higher side, but good food and ambience ! Liked it

  • Oct 02, 2020 by Judy Wolf Sadler

    Gave them another chance. Not sure if its a new owner or pandemic is getting the best of them .i made 2 orders 2 different places pick up 1 at 525 and this at 530.
    Picked up at 527pm i was able to hold on in the palm of my hand from door to car with my hand warm.. other dinner from other restaurant? Count to 4 before it was too hot.
    Asked for a little lettuce. Just a little.. that will cost more ...really?salty steak!
    Called and heard sorry..

  • Oct 01, 2020 by Rebecca Bramlett

    Mestizos is our favorite Mexican restaurant. We eat here every Friday night. The service is exceptional and the restaurant is beautiful and updated inside, as well as VERY clean. We moved here earlier this year and have tried nearly every Mexican restaurant in Bellevue and this is by far our favorite. We judge based on cleanliness, service, salsa and margaritas- all 10/10! Their happy hour is a great time to go with 1/2 price margaritas. Can’t wait to go back Friday!

  • Sep 30, 2020 by Derek Roder

    Great food, excellent service. I told my server Daniel i had to be in and out quickly for lunch and he got me out in 20 minutes.

  • Sep 20, 2020 by Judy Behof

    Cold food, soggy taco, rude employees paid one price was given 5.00 less on instore credit. Since pandemic has really gone down hill.

  • Sep 17, 2020 by josephsS9446LS

    Very rude workers Cold food soggy tacos after going here regularly have they sold the business if so then they will not be in business long

  • Sep 09, 2020 by Quincy D Blackmon

    Great food
    Great service
    Good music
    And atmosphere and its 5minutes from the house... i always use to come there before it opened up to see if it was going to be the grand day for opening for months

  • Sep 07, 2020 by T R.

    Great Mexican food with very attentive staff has made this one of our go to capsaicin relief meals during The Pandemic. Adolfo and crew have worked hard to keep quality consistent and the kitchen chefs know their stuff. She like their healthier than most Chicken Chile Relleno ( not greasy or over cheesy). Me loves the Mesztizos Vegetarian Special plate with whole beans not refried. Muy bueno!

  • Aug 27, 2020 by Yvette Farquer

    Very nice. Small but nice.

  • Jul 21, 2020 by City Smile's

    Excellent food! Prices are fair too. Will definitely go back.

  • Jul 04, 2020 by Amanda P.

    Went out on a limb and ordered from Uber eats. Spent $70 on: queso that was clearly just velveeta with NO seasoning, BROWN guacamole, tiny cups of so/so salsa, beef fajitas that were ok, veggie fajitas that were soggy and flavorless, and tough store-bough tortillas. Oh and "sopapillas"... aka deep fried tortilla with chocolate and old whipped cream. The brown guac was straight up nasty. We ended up tossing most of the food. Practically inedible. Do better. Unfortunately we tossed it in the garbage too soon to take photos.

  • Jun 11, 2020 by Julianna S.

    My husband and I were starving after a long search at McKay Books. This place is right around the corner and the chips and salsa were calling our name. It did not disappoint! The waiter was very nice and attentive, and the food was exactly what we were wanting!

  • May 22, 2020 by Sallye Hook

    Excellent food! Process are fair too. Will definitely go back.

  • May 17, 2020 by Dan Capostagno

    I actually happened upon Mestizos while on a walk. I looked inside and checked out the menu. You can tell the more humble providers of standard Mexican fare from the restaurants that are shooting for something more special, and Mestizos definitely falls into the latter category. The interior has the beautiful historical paintings done by a local artist, and the menu is full of more imaginative choices. But how does it taste? In one word: TRANSCENDENT. My wife and I are originally Californian, and like most Californians we can be a bit snobby when it comes to the quality and taste of Mexican food. So with that in mind, let me tell you: at various points during our meal, we were like "oh WOW." One of the characteristics of Mexican cuisine, generally speaking, is a limited palette of ingredients. So what one does with things like the preparation of the meat, for example, really separates the standard from the amazing. I had the "El Trio" Burrito, (sans cheese sauce for full disclosure,) and it was easily one of THE BEST burritos I've ever had. And I've had many. Bien hecho!

  • May 16, 2020 by Bill D.

    Quesadilla was so good we also had their spinach and cream burrito which was top notch.  Food is very good every time my family and I have eaten from Mestizo's. Don't miss this restaurant when in the Nashville Bellevue area..... excellent

  • May 06, 2020 by Brandon Perdue

    Can’t comment on the food...placed an order through UBER Eats 7 hours in advance and after making our delivery driver wait at the restaurant for over an hour, we finally made the call to cancel the order. Unbelievable. Food was supposed to be ready between 6:30-7, and we made call to cancel at 8. Whoever we spoke to on the phone was unapologetic and had no sense of urgency about them.

  • May 02, 2020 by Sha M.

    I love dining local and to think that this little cute Mexican restaurant would have been it is an overstatement. 3 stars for the margarita because it was nice on both visits. Now, this cheese dip is runny, no consistency and I've had to add my own to give it a taste. Although, during Covid-19 i paid $32 for a small dip and 32 ounce margarita. Oh boy! No comment other than i should have gone to the liquor store.

  • Apr 25, 2020 by Patricia Smith

    Mestizo's is the perfect place for a delicious Mexican food meal in a comfortable, unpretentious setting. The servers and staff are extrememly friendly and will remember you on your next visit. The prices are very reasonable and the margaritas are delicious. If you're by yourself, there is plenty of room to sit at the bar which is located in the center of all the activity. There's plenty of free parking.

  • Apr 24, 2020 by Donald Willson

    The food tastes okay...however myself and my friend both didn't feel well hours late . They also were charging $7.50 for a small portion of guacamole. Then I find my reciept which had a togo charge..(I get that) but then also a "service charge". Hope they enjoyed that dollar. Last one they will get from me. Good luck!!

  • Apr 10, 2020 by Emily B.

    I recently discovered this restaurant and my goodness I was blown away. The food and the service are both top notch. My boyfriend and I ordered take out from them yesterday and they were quick, efficient, and very friendly. For twenty dollars we were both fed for two meals. We tried the huevos con chorizo, tamale, and Chile relleno. All were excellent along with the beans, rice, and chips and salsa. Would highly recommend ordering from them during this Pandemic as we all try to support our local businesses.

  • Mar 04, 2020 by Mike G.

    Best Mexican food, service and prices in Nashville. This cozy little restaurant is very clean and you can have a conversation with guests without yelling. Enjoy!

  • Feb 15, 2020 by Lisa Wascher

    Expansive menu, tasty shrimp and mushroom entrees for us, ambiance a combo of artsy with the decor and sports with the TVs, not too loud and lighting just dim enough. Service needed a little extra check back but was friendly. Salsa spicy and chips fresh! Definitely a return visit warranted.

  • Feb 15, 2020 by Lisa Wascher

    Expansive menu, tasty shrimp and mushroom entrees for us, ambiance a combo of artsy with the decor and sports with the TVs, not too loud and lighting just dim enough. Service needed a little extra check back but was friendly. Salsa spicy and chips fresh! Definitely a return visit warranted.

  • Feb 14, 2020 by Richard Taran

    Mestizos quickly became our all time Nashville Mexican restaurant. They have the BEST salsa maybe any where! The Margaritas...perfect!

  • Jan 25, 2020 by Hannah Glover

    We just happened to try this place...and it was EXCELLENT. Super friendly, super clean, and much better food than most Mexican places. We were impressed!

  • Jan 14, 2020 by Laura

    Lots of vegetarian options; the spinach enchilada was amazing!
    Tortilla soup was excellent — ingredients seemed very fresh. And my mom said the coffee was "to die for".

  • Jan 14, 2020 by David Northrop

    Had a small birthday party here. Waiters were attentive and polite. We all had either chicken soup, Tortilla (chicken) soup, Tortilla Bowl Salad or the salmon special. Each dish was delicious. They also were careful to not spice up the dishes for people with sensitive stomachs. Truly enjoyable.

  • Jan 13, 2020 by Shana Dean

    Very clean, nice ambiance, good service and really good food. We will definitely be back. Hubby never eats the rice and beans at Mexican restaurants becauce they all taste over dry and like the can they came out of, but he really enjoyed the flavor here.

  • Jan 03, 2020 by Henry R.

    Has become my go-to spot in Nashville. The food is consistently delicious and service always top-notch! I've never had anything bad, and the staff, regardless of how busy they are, always treat the customers with respect and never make you feel rushed. Delicious food! Everything we ordered, and I mean EVERYTHING, was incredible fresh and delicious. Flavor balance was perfect. I'm beyond full, but didn't want to stop eating it was so good. Great service & friendly staff add to the experience!!!

  • Dec 15, 2019 by Elma Janes

    Great food! The fajitas and salsas were delicious. I'll have to try the spicy mango margarita next time

  • Dec 08, 2019 by Laurel H.

    We are just beginning to explore the Bellevue area and were thrilled to find Mestizos!  Super cute, modern interior. Excellent service every time we have been. The menu is extensive and offers something for every type of eater (traditional Mexican as well as vegetarian and many seafood options). A couple of things to note:  parking can be challenging. The lot is small so we go at off-peak times to ensure we can find a space. The menu says that chips and salsa will be refilled twice for free, after that there is a charge. Just something to know if you are accustomed to restaurants where you can eat multiple baskets of chips without any related charges. I have had the seafood nachos several times, and they are delicious. Piled high with seafood (crab, shrimp, and fish) and just the right amount of heat. Mestizos is our new go-to Mexican spot!

  • Nov 24, 2019 by Brent Browning

    Place looks nice from the outside. I walked in around 9pm on a Saturday, there was a guy behind the bar with a hair net on his head and his foot propped up on something just standing there watching TV. Didn't acknowledge me at all. I was expecting to see a female bartender. I ordered a burrito, enchilada and a taco to go. The taco was good but the burrito tasted like it had ravioli sauce on it and the enchilada had some horrible brown sauce on it. I only went there because my go-to Mexican restaurant was closed.. Probably won't be back.

  • Nov 17, 2019 by Dorethea Wright

    Food and service were outstanding! We ran across this restaurant by chance, and we will definitely be going back! Burrito Serrano and Chicken Taco Salad we exceptional!

  • Oct 28, 2019 by Kat L.

    Fresh and delicious. Ordered this through Uber eats and was not disappointed. I'm vegan so I was kind of hesitant but I can tell you that they are very veggie friendly. Would recommend!

  • Oct 26, 2019 by Leanne Kirkham

    Best Mexican food in town. Unique dishes, lots of flavor and you can tell it's made with high quality fresh ingredients. More $ than your standard Mexican fare, but worth it. Definitely add to your list to try them out!

  • Oct 26, 2019 by Meg V.

    First time we went to Mestizos it was like a rom com meet cute where I finally find a Mexican place in Bellevue I love! Had some margs - some queso- some tacos and they came in the fancy taco holder things! Amazing I was so happy!! Good decor and super clean - and pretty fast for a Friday night. We came back several Friday nights later to revisit my new love and it was quite lackluster! Service wasn't great and my tacos - the exact same I ordered like four weeks before came in a greesy pile on a plate - no fancy taco holder- quite unappetizing. So the jury is out on this place- can they be consistent? Or do I just have to drown my sorrows with a couple margs before I taste the tacos?

  • Oct 23, 2019 by Rebecca S.

    Good food and good service plus strong margaritas that are dirt cheap during happy hour...what more could you ask for? They have a lot more options for being a Mexican restaurant so that is a big plus for me. Food came out quickly. I would return

  • Oct 13, 2019 by Jodie R.

    The food is fresh and delicious and the music that they played was puro saboooorrr! Salsa!!! Thank you for the great experience!

  • Oct 05, 2019 by Carl A.

    The chicken soup is why I keep going back. It is worth the trip just for the soup alone.

  • Sep 29, 2019 by Susan Stafford

    Best Mexican food. I'm a vegetarian and they have a great selection. I had the mushroom stuffed enchilada..it was really really good!

  • Sep 24, 2019 by Liz Mays

    Quick service. Delicious food. Somewhat more upscale than your typical strip mall Mexican place, but still at a great price point. I’ll be back!

  • Sep 17, 2019 by Jeremy A.

    Great place. Very clean and organized. Attentive staff, and well executed dish's. Best Mexican in the Bellevue area. Do yourself a favor and give this place a try! The food is fresh and made to order. Great drinks too!

  • Sep 16, 2019 by Catherine H.

    This is a great place to go with friends or family. They have something for everyone. The portions are large and the price is cheap! I recently had the rice special and it was great!! They also have great lunch specials!

  • Sep 07, 2019 by Tammy Wigginton

    This was my first time at Mestizo's. I loved the atmosphere. Everyone was nice and warm. The food was delicious. The chips/bread that come with the cheese dip is terrific. Drinks are delicious. I highly recommend going.

  • Sep 07, 2019 by Tammy Wigginton

    This was my first time at Mestizo's. I loved the atmosphere. Everyone was nice and warm. The food was delicious. The chips/bread that come with the cheese dip is terrific. Drinks are delicious. I highly recommend going.

  • Sep 04, 2019 by Martha Martin

    Mestizo's is one of the best Mexican restaurants in Nashville. They have a large menu but without the usual cookie cutter dishes that other Mexican places serve, so I don't mind paying a little extra for that. They use quality ingredients and you can tell that the food is fresh. And the staff there is always hospitable and accommodating.

  • Aug 31, 2019 by Jeff D.

    We love it here! Always fresh and fast and the service is really fantastic! Plus $3 Margs at happy hour?! YES PLEASE!

  • Aug 31, 2019 by Jess C.

    Our favorite Mexican restaurant in Nashville.  Great service, fresh food, clean, accommodating and strong $3 margaritas each day between 4 and 7p.

  • Aug 23, 2019 by Tamara S.

    Food was good. Restaurant was clean. There wasn't enough staff to be able to fill the needs of all the customers. Otherwise, a pleasant experience.

  • Aug 21, 2019 by Andrea Mercer

    Our usual mexican spot was crowded so we tried Mestizo's. It was nice, clean, and delicious. It seemed to offer more variety of dishes than traditional chip and dip Mexican places. My entire table liked their dish and we will be returning.

  • Aug 21, 2019 by Andrea Mercer

    Our usual mexican spot was crowded so we tried Mestizo's. It was nice, clean, and delicious. It seemed to offer more variety of dishes than traditional chip and dip Mexican places. My entire table liked their dish and we will be returning.

  • Aug 12, 2019 by Trice G

    Mestizo's is the perfect place for a delicious Mexican food meal in a comfortable, unpretentious setting. The servers and staff are extrememly friendly and will remember you on your next visit. The prices are very reasonable and the margaritas are delicious. If you're by yourself, there is plenty of room to sit at the bar which is located in the center of all the activity. There's plenty of free parking.

  • Aug 07, 2019 by Heath Hatcher

    Went there for my wife's birthday. They were gracious hosts. We will go back. My food was good.

  • Jul 26, 2019 by Mary W.

    Not good! Overpriced! There were 3 of us there to have dinner. They brought out chips & salsa and the salsa bowl is tiny. And the menu clearly states the meal comes with two servings of chips & salsa and if you want more you're charged for it. My chimichanga was nothing special. It was not the least bit crisp from where it should've been fried. It was more like a burrito. My friend had the diablo shrimp and said it had no real flavor it was just hot! This was our first visit & we were not impressed. With our tip added we spent $70! Probably will not return. Also our server was standing back by the restroom hallway playing on his phone while we needed refills and our check.

  • Jul 12, 2019 by rockstar89

    This is my new favorite in Bellevue. Their Chips and salsa are easily the best in town and the Pollo Chipotle is something I crave often. Decor is more modern than traditional. It’s a little off the beaten path, but worth seeking it out.

  • Jul 10, 2019 by Ryan Harris

    This place is sensational! The absolute, hands down best tacos I've had in Nashville. Incredible Margarita's. Stellar service. This place is the real deal. If you live within 100 miles of Nashville, get to Mestizo's. You won't regret it. Pow!

  • Jul 07, 2019 by Marcia E.

    Seriously? This was horrid. It was stuffy and warm.. the seating wasn't that comfortable and it was loud. You know that annoyance when you get on a plane and the person behind you has a screaming baby? Yup. I'm completely confused as to why people go to this place. Were they like me and got invited by a friend and  that friend had NO idea that there are a plethora of REALLY good Mexican options in Bellevue? I ordered the spinach enchiladas . How do you mess up spinach enchiladas ?  Oh... maybe by filling them up with spinach that had some serious freezer burn . Typically - you might think  ordering  something like fish tacos or maybe shrimp would be sketchy... but spinach?Covered in a heavy brownish sauce and plated with refried beans and rice . Terribly institutional looking . Looking at this plate of food transported me back in time to a non air conditioned elementary school cafeteria  from the 70's. Two bites in and I had to push the plate away.  I opted to not make a fuss since I was there with two friends celebrating a birthday for one of them. Otherwise , I would've been much more verbal about what they are actually plating in this restaurant. I did ask for an order of guacamole which never came. The warm water with no ice seemed pretty on par for this place. One friend  did like her Taco Bell looking salad and the other said her steak had clearly been cooked prior and heated up. Yummy One  small margarita and an inedible plate of food -14 bucks and change plus a tip for mediocre service. Given the choice, I would've rather taken  that  money and tossed it out of my car window rather than support this place. When the waiter came around and asked me if I wanted a box,  it was all I could do to keep my sentiments to myself. So, I am sharing this with all of you people out there. Just don't do it. Life is short. Opt to eat good Mexican food somewhere else.

  • Jul 05, 2019 by Parallel Visions

    Server was awful, didn't give us silverware when we sat or with our food, had to ask.
    Gave us our check and he walked off despite me putting my debit card in the checkbook instantly. Open the checkbook and the ticket is for the wrong meal. I think "eh, whatever it's only a dollar less." So I put my card in.

    Another server kindly takes the checkbook, gives me back the receipt for the actual meal.
    Leave %15 tip despite the worst service I've ever had at a restaurant and leave.

    Later, look at my bank statement and they charged me not once, or twice, BUT THREE TIMES! The manager said he didn't see the ticket in his system for the people's food I apparently paid for and said to come down to the restaurant with the ticket if I wanted to see for myself.

    Only giving 1 star because the food was alright. Worst dining experience I've ever had, avoid at all costs. Go to Cancun if you want good food. They won't triple charge your card and it'a cheaper in the first place.

  • Jun 29, 2019 by Shiloh Burns

    The food here is good. Sometimes the staff is friendly, sometimes they are a bit cold, just depends on the day. We usually enjoy dining here.

  • Jun 29, 2019 by Brittany Smithson

    This place is very delicious and surprisingly has a more authentic mexican flavor than most any other restaurant I've eaten at. I highly recommend giving it a try.

  • Jun 29, 2019 by Marie B.

    I judge a Mexican restaurant by their guacamole. Order the chunky guacamole for some of the best in town! I had the nachos with shrimp, crab, and fish. Sounds a little weird but it was delicious! Sure, you can get the usual American-Mexican restaurant menu items here, but try the other stuff.  You won't be dissapointed.

  • Jun 26, 2019 by Tammy Long

    The food is good. Make sure you specify what kind of beef you want, otherwise they will give you ground beef. Everyone that works there was very friendly. It's bright and clean. They are however busy, a bit pricey and its easier to park in the lot next to/behind the restaurant.

  • Jun 15, 2019 by Kim Rocker

    First time eating here and it was amazingly good.
    I had the Vegetarian Burrito and it did not disappoint it was loaded and so big i almost couldn't finish it. The staff was very friendly and the place was clean.

  • Jun 09, 2019 by Susie

    All their food is amazing!!! Service too

  • Jun 04, 2019 by Barbara B.

    Happened upon this place on our way home yesterday.  The inside is definitely more impressive than the outside area. The food was decent, but our service was not.  We had a waiter that, for some reason, was not friendly or attentive to my friend and I.  They brought my chicken with rice dish which was over-spiced to the hilt; almost too much to eat.  My friend got the shrimp cocktail and a taco and said all was good.  After getting our food, our waiter never came again to ask how everything was,  or if we needed anything.  Instead, he sat at the BAR talking with another patron totally ignoring us. We engaged another waiter walking by as my friend was totally out of coke. The gentleman waiting on us wore glasses. I believe he was the only one that was, so he should be easy to identify.  Benjamin was the waiter that took care of our needs the rest of the visit.  I made a point to the hostess as we were leaving that my $10 tip was to go to Benjamin and NOT the original waiter as he failed miserably at his job.

  • Jun 03, 2019 by Paul C

    Mestizo's is just a bit off the beaten path where one might expect to find good eats but it is still convenient to I-40 just west of downtown. There is nothing fancy about the place but the food and service were excellent. We both had enchillada dinners and their one-of-each (chicken, cheese, bean, & beef) were well prepared, nicely displayed, delivered hot, and definitely a step above most Mexican restaurants in the area.

  • Jun 01, 2019 by Madelyn M.

    We have been here several times and it is definitely several notches above all of the other Mexican places on this side of town. The food is well-seasoned (and delicious) with both unique and familiar dishes. Service has been good every time. The restaurant is clean and decorated nicely. It's our new go-to!

  • May 25, 2019 by quinn l.

    I was surprised when I walked into this place! I was expecting a strip mall style Mexican place, but this felt a little more upscale without the upscale prices. I ordered huevos rancheros which were served on a white square plate with a side of tortillas on its own little square plate. Everything was wonderful, from lunch to the warm tortilla chips and salsa. I will definitely come back. My only issue was the waiter was a little long getting the check to me. That was easily remedied, so I don't believe that deserved a star taken off.

  • May 12, 2019 by Barry Lee

    Two thumbs up!! Friendly and welcoming staff. The food is excellent!! It’s fresh and a real step up from the typical Mexican fare I’ve had elsewhere. Also, the restaurant itself was nicely built out. Highly recommended!!!

  • May 07, 2019 by Mike G

    These folks have taken Mexican cuisine to a higher level. You will pay a little more but, it is well worth it. The service is outstanding, the servings are more than enough and I assure you will become a regular customer.

  • May 04, 2019 by Fancy Pants

    My flautas were nice and crunchy...my son's enchiladas were tasty as well as the rice and beans. My server was nice & it wasn't crowded for a Friday night. I was happy our food arrived fast. The only thing I didn't like were the green & yellow peppers in both dishes. I'm a texmex foodie from South Texas so you really don't find green or yellow peppers in our dishes. So trying to take them out of our cooked food was tedious.

  • May 02, 2019 by Jeff B.

    Food is a little upscale which is needed in Nashville. Atmosphere is nicer than most Mexican restaurants ( Cinco and Las Palmas) and staff is very friendly. Good place to go for a better quality meal. I will definitely come back.

  • Apr 21, 2019 by Diane G.

    Place is awesome. Food is delicious. Most Mexican food in Nashville is all the same, but not here. Service is good and everyone is super friendly.

  • Mar 28, 2019 by Mike Kupris

    Absolutely love the chicken tacos. You'll pay not much less at Taco Bell but get WAY better quality at Mestizo's. Service is prompt and friendly. Salsa is fresh and vibrant. Some Mexican restaurants make you insides kinda regret it

  • Mar 26, 2019 by Stephanie G.

    Good food. The guacamole is delicious! Margaritas are pretty good. Service is mediocre, which is the reason I am giving it 4 stars. By far the best Mexican in the Bellevue area.

  • Mar 24, 2019 by Tisha V.

    The Carne Asada was Very Good. The Refried Beans were basic and unimpressive. The Chunky Guacamole was Fresh but lacked Salt... easy fix. I recommend asking for the Spicy Salsa! The Spicy Mango Margarita And Jalapeño Margarita both Tasty and Refreshing! A nice Addition to the Bellevue Area.

  • Feb 13, 2019 by Sherry A.

    Happy to have a new regular. We have enjoyed the food, drink, and service. Great value too.

  • Jan 27, 2019 by Diego L.

    Best Mexican restaurant in middle Tennessee the staff is friendly the food is great margaritas love it.

  • Jan 26, 2019 by Patti M.

    I really enjoyed the starting of the chips and their red sauce. Service was wonderful, enchiladas were delicious, atmosphere was good.

  • Jan 22, 2019 by Nichole Garrett

    This is the best Mexican food in West Nashville. I thought I had lost this taste forever when I returned to Nashville after being away for two years, and the owner's former restaurant had been sold....but, to my delight, I tracked him and his most excellent crew to this new building. I always order my food "to go", and it is always accurate and prompt. The rice tastes great reheated
    (where else does that ever happen?), And the black beans are seasoned beautifully. The food is always consistent....I know exactly what to expect when I dig into my favorite dishes, and I am never disappointed. Something as simple as chicken, cheese, and rice ( the "rice special") lights up all my taste buds and leaves my mouth applauding. Highly recommended!

  • Jan 12, 2019 by Jay F.

    Don't know where to start. Everything about this place screams mediocrity at best. The salsa taste like ketchup and the ground beef is very suspect. Tasted nothing close to mexican food avoid this place like the plague

  • Jan 09, 2019 by Nikki M.

    We live less than a mile away and have eaten here numerous times and it's always been great and consistent.... until tonight. We both work in the service industry and I don't think our poor server even knew what he was supposed to be doing. I'm pregnant and all I wanted was their chunky guacamole and when we got it to the table it was disgusting. Every single piece of avocado was bad. To the point they were all gray & brown and didn't need to be served at all. My husband pointed this out and 3 different people proceeded to tell him "yes those are avocados". Yes we know what avocados are and those had gone bad and should have never been served.... oh and we also still had to pay for that part. The last thing was that our 4 year old got a cheese quesadilla that they forgot about completely until we asked where it was after we had gotten our food. We really hated this bc we truly used to enjoy this place but now it's just left a literal bad taste in our mouths.

  • Jan 07, 2019 by Heather B.

    When you walk in, you notice the place is kinda small but intimate. The salsa was pretty good. But my shrimp was wayyyyy over cooked. Super chewy and burnt. The margarita was a bit watery and pretty much virgin. I probably wouldn't go back any time soon.

  • Dec 29, 2018 by T S.

    Not bad but I think this is more of a bar that happens to also serve Mexican food. The night I was there there was a loud drunk who should have been bounced. There are tons of Mexican restaurants in the area, and comparatively the food at this one is mid-pack. Perhaps slightly better but also more expensive than most, though still not pricey by any means. Parking is sometimes a challenge due to location at a busy intersection.

  • Dec 27, 2018 by D. H.

    Leaning towards a 2.5 with this one. With so many excellent Mexican restaurants in the Nashville area from "authentic" to Tex-Mex to everytown standard to choose from I'm betting (based on our experience) that most folks choose Mestizo's for the same reason we did--location. We had spent a couple of hours at the behemoth that is McKay's right around the corner and were famished and in need of a quick lunch before an early movie time. Mestizo's popped up on the yelp app as right by us so we pulled in for a quick bite. As for the biggest plus--it was a very quick bite! For it being a Sunday at lunch time we were seated immediately and soon placed our order. I ran to the restroom to wash my hands and almost as soon as I sat down our orders were on the table--I don't think I've ever been served so fast in a sit-down Mexican restaurant! Now, the chips and salsa were really good which is usually a good sign of things to come. However, while nothing we ordered was bad nothing (other than the chips and salsa) was really that good either. Both of our dishes had chicken in them...but the chicken was very, very light and lacked flavor. It didn't taste grilled, it tasted boiled. Any way, I'd give them another shot if I was in the area and hungry. The prices are inexpensive and the drink specials look good.

  • Dec 11, 2018 by Robert H.

    Love it!  Great Service. Great Food.  Everything taste fresh and well prepared.   Very friendly and welcoming owner that wants to make sure you are pleased with your visit.   Great location too btw

  • Nov 25, 2018 by Drew

    Nice variety of menu options, decent prices, and quality seems good (have to come back to confirm consistency). Margarita was good and nicely complemented the chicken soup (good flavor!).

  • Nov 11, 2018 by Mercedi S.

    This is the Bougie version of a Mexican restaurant. The ambience was not at all what I was expecting, as the decor does not match the music or cuisine. All white walls with very little lighting from sparse halogen track lighting makes the room seem gray and dim...not exactly an  appetizing feel. I like the warm, fun atmosphere of typical Mexican restaurants so I almost left upon entering. I stayed though, and had some very fresh and spicy ceviche (which the nosy table next to me continually called "suh-vee-chee"). With at least three TVs silently competing with the Mexican music and ultra mod decor, my senses were ultra confused. My margarita was ok, and I liked the food but it was nothing to write home about. To me, ambience is at least 50% of the equation if not more and so for this reason I won't be back.

  • Nov 08, 2018 by Crystal Ross

    It was delicious. I like my husband's and my father in laws fajitas and burrito the best. My taco salad was soupy and was just ok. My husband and I will be back and try something new. It is really nice inside too and they bring you Chip's and salsa right away. The waiter was friendly and kind too.

  • Nov 03, 2018 by Chandler Ross

    Nice interior, good mild salsa and excellent hot salsa. Lunch menu is awesome. I loved my lunch fajitas.

  • Oct 30, 2018 by Bryan H.

    Of course it's new and clean. I like the opened of it and fresh feel of the place. Not the typical Mexican decor.  I had all fresh ingredients, so the Tex Mex fare is not here. Guac was good, good proportions. Met the owner, and had a waiter that made it even better. If you read the reviews online like Yelp, remember they were dealing with new people. All for a manager to fix your problem, or hey the owner.

  • Oct 29, 2018 by Cathy I.

    Been going to Mexico for many years. This is not good food. Margaritas (all mix) & guacamole not authentic. Food very under seasoned. Covered everything in red sauce & no condiments.

  • Oct 27, 2018 by Matt C.

    I'm not a regular mexican restauranteur because most of the establishments I've experienced are the same. But this place is different. From the menu options to the vibe, this quaint place has a lot to like. If you're looking for a step above the norm and like Mexican cuisine, you should try this place. The staff was very friendly too and the owner came by to ensure everything was tip top. Was a charming experience and I'm really looking forward to exploring more of the menu.

  • Oct 17, 2018 by Carolyn S.

    Delicious. Great food, quick and efficient service. I had the shrimp chimichanga and my husband and the Pollo con Tocino (chicken, onions, cheese dip, rice, beans, tortilla shells) and he loved it. A bit pricey for queso dip but it's very good cheese dip. The environment is a different Mexican ambiance, very modern. They've only been open 3 weeks and it was pretty busy for a Wednesday and they said it's been busy since they've opened and they have had repeat customers, which is always encouraging to hear. The back parking lot is a little strange and awkward and dark.

  • Oct 17, 2018 by Mary D.

    Have been to Mestizo's a couple of times, and have been impressed both times.  The ambiance and decor are not like most Mexican restaurants, thankfully!  Cleaner, more upscale look.  Looks like someone's home.  The food that we have had has been great!  We've had the queso with chorizo and loved it, and the tacos are very tasty.  We are looking forward to trying more of the items from this nicely varied menu. There are items that you don't find at most Mexican restaurants, and we are quite happy about that!  The margaritas are really good, too.  And they offer regular, medium and large sizes!  All in all, a great experience and recommended to all!

  • Oct 14, 2018 by Kelly C.

    My husband and I came here when they first opened. I put in a reservation request on their website and did not got any kind of confirmation. A few days later I called and the guy who answered said he could squeeze me in but never took my name before hanging up. When we showed up it was busy, but thankfully we were able to get a seat right away. This is unlike any mexican restaurant I've been to. It felt very cold and sterile with the white walls and lack of tacky mexican decore. The food was ok, but not as good as any of the other Bellevue mexican restaurants. I felt like the decore and menu don't fit the theme of a Mexican restaurant.  I did give an extra star for the water glasses that have a gold rim around them. That was a classy touch. I ordered the crab quesadilla. It should have been called a Krab quesadilla because it was as fake and imitation as can be. I was disappointed. My husband was served the wrong dish, but ate it anyway. We won't be returning to this place.

  • Oct 08, 2018 by Lou B.

    From the second you walk in you know this is not your ordinary mexican restaurant.  What was once known as pugs corner has been completely transformed into an open and airy eatery.  You are greeted by some familiar faces from the west nash food business and delightfully so.  The menu is large. Take your time.  Hub and I both chose the build your own combo 3 items for $10.99 including beans and rice.  The poblanos are the closest to ones I ate in mexico. The burrito and enchiladas  we not lacking in filling or taste. Make your way out charlotte pike and enjoy some wonderful food.

  • Sep 30, 2018 by John W.

    Very nice, with a menu that is different from a lot of Mexican restaurants, but with just enough that's familiar. Excellent quality and good service.

  • Sep 30, 2018 by Charlotte J.

    Not ready to be open... no liquor license so no margs. All staff seems completely overwhelmed. Server would avoid eye contact when attempting to get attention and came to table only to deliver cold food. Maybe next time guys...